I remember when

mic

I remember when I read about a nasty accident, a murder, a drug bust or anything of that sort about once every 3-6 months. Yes I really remember that and I’m not making it up. But I’ve been watching the Jordanian media for the past few years and recently, there isn’t a single day that passes without me reading about a rape or a murder or something like that.

What strikes me as most alarming is that I’m reading about traffic accidents that kill a few people on a daily basis. At least one accident that left someone dead. It’s a really sad thing to start worrying about your dear life when you start your car. Ladies and gents, please be careful when you’re driving! I really want to live a normal healthy life. I don’t want to die in a car wreck. And I’m sure you don’t want that either.

Now back the whole media issue. Now I remember when prices were cheaper, I remember when we used to get the newspaper for something like 12.5 piaster. That was when I wouldn’t read anything about accidents and stuff like that. Does that mean that they didn’t happen? Not at all, I’m sure they did. We just never heard about it! We used to hear those stories through people who were friends of friends of friends of those related to those bits of bad news. Now we’re reading them all over the place. We’ve always had un-fathered children, drug cases, murders, thefts and all kinds of stuff. But we were happy, as a nation. We enjoyed the fact that we could buy a whole box of potatoes for something like 45 piaster and we were also happy that you can fill up your car with less than 15 JD’s no matter how big your tank was.

I remember a time when my dad and I used to go to our farm in the Jordan valley, those were great days. But now, I find my father worrying about how expensive everything is, and for the first time, I’m in fear of what’s going to happen 10 years from now. Now I’m one of the lucky Jordanians who have a good job and can actually afford all these increases in priced. But I would like to think that as I progress in my job, I’ll be able to afford some of the nicer things in life. But with the rate that things are getting more expensive, I sincerely doubt that. Since when was a 4 figure salary barely enough to live a somewhat normal life?

Now I don’t want to spell it out for you, but I’m sure that if you think about what I’m saying, you’ll come to a point where you realize that as a people, we are no longer happy, we are no longer pleased with our lives, incomes, friends and jobs. But we’re in fear of losing all we got. Because that’s how bad everything is becoming, instead of having a neighbor that invites you over for coffee, we have a neighbor that’s complaining about how noisy your air conditioner is, or if you’re lucky, someone that says “good morning” when you leave for work. we’ve got people who can barely survive that are buying cars that are costing them half their salary in installments just because these people want to fit in. since when has out vision of community changes so much? Since when have appearances meant more than anything? Why have we changed so much? Why have we become a negative nation?

Think there might be something to what I’m saying about what kind of news we’re getting? Well, I don’t know what happened for sure, but what I do know is that we need to bond as a nation in order to be able to face all the difficulties that are coming towards us. We need to help other with what we can spare so that we may rise up to the challenge as a nation instead of as individuals. And that challenge, is bigger than anything else that the globe can throw in the way of Jordanians.

 

~ by Mazz on 29 January, 2008.

6 Responses to “I remember when”

  1. Good reflection, Mazz. When people look at what they don’t have, and feel discontent, it is proof materialism has a hold.

  2. Negativity is a sign of consumerism, which is a vicious cycle of discontent and buying more
    The issues are global, these are happening everywhere. Not only in Jordan. But exactly as you said, when did we become like this? Why? It’s really sad.

  3. Maybe because Jordan is getting sucky day by day? man, I can’t wait to graduate and kick off

  4. thanks kinzi!
    Qwaider, well, i must agree with your statement about consumerism. we are consumers and sadly, it doesn’t look like it’s going to change… if we wanted to trace this back to an event, i can’t put my finger on one, but i can think of a few! but i don’t want to turn this into a political blog!
    and moey, your insightful remarks are almost always a reason for me to roll my eyes. weinak?

  5. those were the good days, unfortunately we’re heeded to dreadful times,
    thank for the deep insight man

  6. I have been living up to 9 months of every year in Jordan for the past 14 years and the changes I see make me want to cry. Hospitality has almost vanished and its due to the International incursions around Jordan. I now find even the bedouin in the deep south are looking for a quick fix for money. Jordan is becoming too undisciplined. Wealthy Iraqis mentality is dragging Jordan down into a pit it may never recover from.

Leave a Reply

 
