Mathematically Impaired!? Personal Experience

Donkey Wool - Texture

so i’m sitting somewhere where i usually sit, talking with a person, let’s call them X. this is what we talked about:

Me: you good with math?
X: Nah i hate it!
Me: how bad are ya?
x:well I’m not that bad, I’m okay i guess why?
me: answer this, what’s 17×3?
pauses for a few moments, laughs.
x: I don’t know!
me: come on X! I’m sure you can do it! give it a shot!
-thinks for a minute and then says-
x:okay. so 7×3 is 36
me: wait wait wait, 7×3 is 36? that’s new…let’s do this the long way. what’s 7+7?
pauses, then says
x:’15’ in a matter of fact tone of voice.
me: dear lord up above, okay, what’s 3+4?
x:7
me: what’s 7+3?
x: 10
me: now add 4
x: 14 – AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHH! now i get it
me: awesome, now add 7 to 14
x: 25?
-i slap myself on the head-
me: NO! it’s 21….you know what, forget it. you don’t need to know the answer.
x: NO! i want to know what 17×3 is!
me: use a calculator!
-punches on calculator-
x: aaah! it’s 51!
me: what do you do when you go to a super market?
x: i calculate
-thinking, JACKPOT! open up a supermarket! let’s try this it’ll be fun!-
me: okay, so suppose you want to by a coke for 0.25 JD, a bag of chips for 0.25, a pack of marlboro reds for 1.25, and a stick of gum for 0.15 JDs. how much is that?
x: what’s that again?
-i think I’m seeing a pattern here-
i repeat slowly as x adds up. x reaches the ciggies and says 1.75. at this point I’m thinking “ah! x might do it better with money”
me: plus 15 piasters?
x:1.95
me: oh god…this is worse than i thought…
x: no no wait wait, it’s 1.90
me: great! now suppose you give the shop keeper 5 JDs. how much is he supposed to give you back
x:HAHAHAHA! wait! emmm, 4.15
me: OMG i can’t do this any more. carry a calculator with you at all times or people will rip you off.

Moral of the story: not everyone can do math. even simple easy math…but i think i like X. X is kind, funny, and makes sure i don’t forget anything.

p.s: i didn’t say their name or gender cause i don’t want to be called any names. I’m only writing this cause i found it really amusing.plus, I’m not that smart, i can do math. but i suck with geometry. i can’t solve those problems for the life of me! and i can’t spell either! thank God Firefox has a spelling checker!

~ by Mazz on 29 July, 2007.

10 Responses to “Mathematically Impaired!? Personal Experience”

  1. In the end, it’s not going to matter how many breaths you took, but how many moments took your breath away

  2. OMG x got on my nerves!

  3. So, X is a child of 4 years old?? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Mazz, stop repeating stories abut my bad math on-line! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. hehehehe,
    well, annoying and remarkable as it is! x is really a nice person and is quite funny even though they don’t really try to be ๐Ÿ˜€
    X is also 25 years old of age…come on esther! it wouldn’t be funny any other way ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Make sure on Mr. X next birthday to bring him a calculator

  7. Interesting, No offense but what does X do in life?

    and don’t tell me he worked for Enron… Accounting Dept…

  8. well, x might as well work for the treasury department! x is a person who is a Tender Engineer “not really an engineer! and that goes without saying” and takes care of phone calls, faxes, documentation, archiving…the whole shebang
    luckily, x doesn’t handle my salary…or should they?

  9. Hahaha, your friend made me feel better about myself ๐Ÿ˜›

  10. haha im terrible at math so i googled “math for the mathematically impaired” to see if i could find anything to help me. this came up and i laughed my head off. at least im better than X.

Leave a Reply

 
